Go Back   Savage 2: A Tortured Soul Forum > Savage 2 Modding > Released Projects

Notices

Released Projects Share your finished/beta modifications with the community!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2010, 09:46 AM   #21
eaxs

eaxs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,611
Thanks: 9
Thanked 40 Times in 24 Posts
Default

does that mean compressed s2z's do not work under linux? What if i compress a map for example...what happens when linux ppl try to play it?
eaxs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 09:56 AM   #22
S2stony
S2 Junior Staff Member

S2stony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Newerth Valley
Posts: 6,940
Thanks: 61
Thanked 298 Times in 142 Posts
Default

nono - s2z's work, but they must not be compressed. Thats what i tried with my soundfiles - they just didnt work. Evil had to repack them with no compression at all and they work now.

(Or maybe i missed something else )
__________________

Donations are still welcome - please go to www.PlaySavage2.com and click on the "Donate" button. TY

S2stony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:10 PM   #23
zhyago

zhyago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

you could add:
  • the custom UIs (stanz, wiwis and skirtmonkey edition)
  • crosshair mod (test?)
  • terrain footstep fix (test?)
  • striders proppack (for playing/making custom maps)

and maybe a section on BindImpuls commands:

Toggle AltInfo:
BindImpulse game F4 Cmd "Action AltInfo"

Toggle Repair (test?):
BindImpulse game SHIFT+R Cmd "Action Repair"

Stack-O-Mat:
BindImpulse game X Cmd "AllChat ^g<stack-o-mat> ^ySF: ^c#LobbyTeamAverageSF0# ^wVS ^c#LobbyTeamAverageSF1# ^yPlayers: ^c#LobbyTeamPlayerCount0# ^wVS ^c#LobbyTeamPlayerCount1# ^yLevel: ^c#LobbyTeamAverageLevel0# ^wVS ^c#LobbyTeamAverageLevel1# ;"

and you could include the "S2Commands" Zip someone postet a while ago.
__________________
Own S2 Custom Maps: Dreen Bog ; Norasten
zhyago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 12:30 PM   #24
EvilRebel

EvilRebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: I think it's Mars... Or maybe Denmark
Posts: 5,200
Thanks: 0
Thanked 96 Times in 87 Posts
Default

I would like to add all these mod. The problem is just that I need the modders to coorporate with me for it to happen. I need them to reupload the mods as s2z archives and to update their threads etc.
__________________
I'm no longer gonna bother put anything useful into my sig.
EvilRebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 07:48 PM   #25
MBomber
Community Moderator

MBomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 6,887
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 8 Posts
Default

The point here is that every mod will have a different number. This will prevent a conflict of mods trying to take the same number as well as confusion for people who are a little unclear on how to install these things.

Every mod uses the filename "resources#.s2z," where # = ANYTHING (not just numbers, as I discovered). I picked the number 37; all versions of my mod are now "resources37.s2z." No one else may use that filename, and I may not use the any other filename. The benefits are that there is no conflicts in naming, installation is as simple as dropping it in the correct folder, and all the mods are accessible from the same page, making them easy to find, impossible to lose, etc.

Where doing this man. Where making this happen.
__________________
Forum Moderator. Please message me if you have any problems or questions.

Does smoke in this game lag out your computer? Then STOP SMOKING!


MBomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 10:40 PM   #26
t1ck

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 371
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

regarding creating a zip.
there is a command called "zip" which most tools use,
its help output says:
Copyright (c) 1990-2008 Info-ZIP - Type 'zip "-L"' for software license.
Zip 3.0 (July 5th 2008). Usage:
zip [-options] [-b path] [-t mmddyyyy] [-n suffixes] [zipfile list] [-xi list]
The default action is to add or replace zipfile entries from list, which
can include the special name - to compress standard input.
If zipfile and list are omitted, zip compresses stdin to stdout.
-f freshen: only changed files -u update: only changed or new files
-d delete entries in zipfile -m move into zipfile (delete OS files)
-r recurse into directories -j junk (don't record) directory names
-0 store only -l convert LF to CR LF (-ll CR LF to LF)
....
i used the -0 param to do a "store only",
the compression ratio is 0% then.

but it still doesnt work.

but the game somehow finds the files i put in the zip, because he doesnt use the original ones,
but the problem is that he cant read the content of the files.

Quote:
Toggle AltInfo:
BindImpulse game F4 Cmd "Action AltInfo"

Toggle Repair (test?):
BindImpulse game SHIFT+R Cmd "Action Repair"

Stack-O-Mat:
BindImpulse game X Cmd "AllChat ^g<stack-o-mat> ^ySF: ^c#LobbyTeamAverageSF0# ^wVS ^c#LobbyTeamAverageSF1# ^yPlayers: ^c#LobbyTeamPlayerCount0# ^wVS ^c#LobbyTeamPlayerCount1# ^yLevel: ^c#LobbyTeamAverageLevel0# ^wVS ^c#LobbyTeamAverageLevel1# ;"
regarding changes of the config (which you cant put in s2z files as far as i know),
we could just create a seperate .cfg file users can put in their profile folder and add a "exec extracommands.cfg" to the startup.cfg
and btw, the "Toggle Repair (test?):" does work, im using it regulary
t1ck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 04:35 AM   #27
MBomber
Community Moderator

MBomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 6,887
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Responding to Aggle's request, I rigged up a quick mod to remove the raining ash and embers from the Malphas, and would like to request number 66 for "No Ash."
__________________
Forum Moderator. Please message me if you have any problems or questions.

Does smoke in this game lag out your computer? Then STOP SMOKING!


MBomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 03:42 PM   #28
EvilRebel

EvilRebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: I think it's Mars... Or maybe Denmark
Posts: 5,200
Thanks: 0
Thanked 96 Times in 87 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by t1ck View Post
regarding changes of the config (which you cant put in s2z files as far as i know),
we could just create a seperate .cfg file users can put in their profile folder and add a "exec extracommands.cfg" to the startup.cfg
and btw, the "Toggle Repair (test?):" does work, im using it regulary
You could probably add it to the options interface. I can't tell how you do it though. Ask someone who knows something about editing UIs in this game
__________________
I'm no longer gonna bother put anything useful into my sig.
EvilRebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 10:33 PM   #29
Wiwiweb

Wiwiweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 844
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 1 Post
Default

I will try making my mod into s2z files this weekend. I'm currently busy with school issues.
I intend to seperate it into three parts : The UI, the altinfo, and the taunt pack. I'll use 42, 43 and 44. Maybe I will have to leave my "settings.xml" file out of the UI s2z, in order to make settings easily modifiable to the user.
What did stony say about compressed sound file, though? I understood that s2z files were just renamed zip files, but apparently it doesn't work with sound files?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MBomber View Post
Where doing this man. Where making this happen.
Just how high do you even have to be just to do something like that?
__________________
Wiwi's mods : Improved UI and other newt things. Click these images for more info:

Wiwiweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 11:02 PM   #30
MBomber
Community Moderator

MBomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 6,887
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiwiweb View Post
Just how high do you even have to be just to do something like that?
Gimme a break, I've been suffering a cold recently!
__________________
Forum Moderator. Please message me if you have any problems or questions.

Does smoke in this game lag out your computer? Then STOP SMOKING!


MBomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:41 PM.