Go Back   Savage 2: A Tortured Soul Forum > Savage 2 Modding

Notices

Savage 2 Modding Discussion of all things related to making mods of Savage 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-29-2012, 06:07 PM   #21
PetzI

PetzI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,814
Thanks: 18
Thanked 72 Times in 50 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolnesss View Post
Didn't we used to have bots back in 2009 or 2010 on them servers?
No, the only bots we ever had were the NPCs, the workers and the summoner's Pets.
PetzI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 07:31 PM   #22
Old55

Old55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,586
Thanks: 14
Thanked 428 Times in 209 Posts
Default

Once I get a million other things done I want to add to this project. I have a few interesting ideas that I prototyped a while back.
__________________
Old55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 09:17 PM   #23
Sintax

Sintax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 188
Thanks: 15
Thanked 37 Times in 24 Posts
Default

I played with this a little while back and it was fun and had a lot of potential. The problem is it would crash fairly often, and I was never able to finish a game. As updates came out the crashes increased. I don't know if there's a reliable way to debug them.

It does work in multiplayer, as random people would join the server.
Sintax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 10:03 PM   #24
coolnesss
Area Moderator

coolnesss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,727
Thanks: 192
Thanked 364 Times in 290 Posts
Default

I remember there was this thing where little npcs ran between bases fighting eachother like in hon and then there were some messages about someone picking up fire blades or similar... this is just really blurry to me, sorry :/ but does anyone have any idea what I'm talking about?
__________________
<RedOmen> s2 is prolly just making a minecraft clone mmo :P
coolnesss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 10:50 PM   #25
Pidgeoni

Pidgeoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,734
Thanks: 185
Thanked 317 Times in 190 Posts
Default

That was Eaxs big mod:
http://forums.savage2.com/showthread.php?t=20752
Pidgeoni is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Pidgeoni For This Useful Post:
coolnesss (03-01-2012)
Old 03-01-2012, 01:04 AM   #26
Holleau

Holleau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 46
Thanks: 5
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Default Answer

Dear ultradm!

I've tried an alternate uploading site, hope this will work:
AI2.s2z - 1.8 MB

The mod can be applied to any map, just copy the triggerlist and the resources folder into your selected map.

Yes, it works online...

The freezing problem is still a mystery, I'm working on it, but it won't be quick. (It seems to be an overwritten memory thing...) If i deactivate some memory consuming subroutines, it works, but what shall i deactivate the "PET weapon-change" (that is the most CPU intensive, but most fun part), the Commander-building, the Spawning? All I want to say, separate parts can be used (for a Bot CTF map, or a story-based MMO map..) but I want to build the whole thing (maybe I'm a bit megalomaniac).

Feel free to disassemble the code, and use the parts you like. Or if you start a project on your own, I'd be happy to tell every piece of information I've gathered.

P.S.: To practise against NPCs & PETs check out the XPractise (it's stabe to run, and can be upgraded for story based maps...)
XPractise.s2z - 4.0 MB

Or on 2shared:
http://www.2shared.com/file/ipI8kfws/XPractise.html
__________________
There is always a workaround!

Last edited by Holleau; 03-01-2012 at 01:04 PM.
Holleau is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Holleau For This Useful Post:
Pidgeoni (03-01-2012), Xigbar (03-02-2012)
Old 03-01-2012, 02:23 AM   #27
ultradm

 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 83
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Much appreciated Holleau! I'll give it a spin tonight, thanks a lot!
ultradm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 09:54 PM   #28
Old55

Old55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,586
Thanks: 14
Thanked 428 Times in 209 Posts
Default

One thing that would like prevent crashes is to avoid using so many sleep statements. You would likely be better off keeping a counter in onframe trigger and firing off scripts at certain intervals.
__________________
Old55 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Old55 For This Useful Post:
Holleau (03-02-2012), Pidgeoni (03-01-2012), SonOfAthena (04-03-2013)
Old 03-02-2012, 03:29 AM   #29
Holleau

Holleau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 46
Thanks: 5
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Default

I'll definitely try this.

(The reason of so many sleeps is: to ensure that only one subroutine runs at a time, in order to avoid parallel tasks based freeze -memory outage-)
__________________
There is always a workaround!
Holleau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 01:39 PM   #30
Durwyn

 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 264
Thanks: 47
Thanked 67 Times in 54 Posts
Default

Did you make any progress since then? o:
__________________
Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Graphic card : Geforce GT 540M
RAM : 8gb
Savage2MapsAI
Durwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:48 PM.