Go Back   Savage 2: A Tortured Soul Forum > Savage 2 Modding

Notices

Savage 2 Modding Discussion of all things related to making mods of Savage 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2014, 05:51 PM   #361
Durwyn

 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 264
Thanks: 47
Thanked 67 Times in 54 Posts
Default

I'm not really working on this anymore, i have other stuffs to do.

However im having some problems with Dropbox, they shut me down and i'm still awaiting their response and explanations.

***deleted lines, dropbox is back up

cheers :P

Oh, and w/e you decide to do, change the page http://www.savage2.com/en/main.php ^^
__________________
Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Graphic card : Geforce GT 540M
RAM : 8gb
Savage2MapsAI

Last edited by Durwyn; 04-29-2014 at 03:34 PM.
Durwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 03:34 PM   #362
Durwyn

 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 264
Thanks: 47
Thanked 67 Times in 54 Posts
Default

Finally some updates

Dropbox reenabled my links, it was a misunderstanding which took a while to solve (sadly)

All the links on this thread should work again,

Website : https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...ite/index.html
__________________
Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Graphic card : Geforce GT 540M
RAM : 8gb
Savage2MapsAI
Durwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Durwyn For This Useful Post:
coolnesss (04-30-2014)
Old 04-30-2014, 12:32 AM   #363
coolnesss
Area Moderator

coolnesss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,727
Thanks: 192
Thanked 364 Times in 290 Posts
Default

Hey, good job on the mod. Does the commander have the ability to "sense" danger before building an outpost? If so, this feature could be very useful in actual play. You could have an indicator over the building being placed as a sign of danger. We could calculate distances at which an enemy can take down a sublair or a garrison, and take into account the amount of builders present and their repair rates, as well as the amount of other units defending.

If you want to discuss this further, please join the #savage IRC channel at irc.s2games.com
__________________
<RedOmen> s2 is prolly just making a minecraft clone mmo :P
coolnesss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 10:47 AM   #364
PetzI

PetzI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,814
Thanks: 17
Thanked 72 Times in 50 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolnesss View Post
Hey, good job on the mod. Does the commander have the ability to "sense" danger before building an outpost? If so, this feature could be very useful in actual play. You could have an indicator over the building being placed as a sign of danger. We could calculate distances at which an enemy can take down a sublair or a garrison, and take into account the amount of builders present and their repair rates, as well as the amount of other units defending.

If you want to discuss this further, please join the #savage IRC channel at irc.s2games.com
Come on, that's cheating. Having a UI that alerts you of player debuffs is bad enough.
PetzI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 05:24 PM   #365
Durwyn

 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 264
Thanks: 47
Thanked 67 Times in 54 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolness
Hey, good job on the mod. Does the commander have the ability to "sense" danger before building an outpost? If so, this feature could be very useful in actual play. You could have an indicator over the building being placed as a sign of danger. We could calculate distances at which an enemy can take down a sublair or a garrison, and take into account the amount of builders present and their repair rates, as well as the amount of other units defending.
Something like this then:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...f%20danger.png

The circle representing the building we want to build and the arrows Numbers representing the number of enemies (visible on the map) around the building within a certain radius.

right?
__________________
Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Graphic card : Geforce GT 540M
RAM : 8gb
Savage2MapsAI
Durwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 09:09 PM   #366
coolnesss
Area Moderator

coolnesss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,727
Thanks: 192
Thanked 364 Times in 290 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Durwyn View Post
Something like this then:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...f%20danger.png

The circle representing the building we want to build and the arrows Numbers representing the number of enemies (visible on the map) around the building within a certain radius.

right?
Hey sounds great man. And while we're at it, we could assess the unit, their HP, and their player's SFs to make a complete threat assessment. It could give you a score out 10 at how likely it is that your garrison will go down if you place it right now.

This would really improve the gaming experience. See, as it stands, Savage2 is clearly just too difficult. With these additions, we could get the players to concentrate on what matters: playing the game. If i wanted to play chess i'd play chess, not S2.
__________________
<RedOmen> s2 is prolly just making a minecraft clone mmo :P
coolnesss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 03:18 PM   #367
Durwyn

 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 264
Thanks: 47
Thanked 67 Times in 54 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolnesss View Post
Hey sounds great man. And while we're at it, we could assess the unit, their HP, and their player's SFs to make a complete threat assessment. It could give you a score out 10 at how likely it is that your garrison will go down if you place it right now.

This would really improve the gaming experience. See, as it stands, Savage2 is clearly just too difficult. With these additions, we could get the players to concentrate on what matters: playing the game. If i wanted to play chess i'd play chess, not S2.
It was just an idea, i don't really know how to put that in place.

Anyways, it can be a good addition to the mod. :-)
__________________
Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Graphic card : Geforce GT 540M
RAM : 8gb
Savage2MapsAI
Durwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 06:07 PM   #368
KillerKitten

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 51
Thanks: 32
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

bug I found (or maybe it's just me not installing properly)

Mines aren't considered as built, there's no greensquare at the map that indicates a built mine

There's a hp bar that follows you

the bots (on lostvalley) always goes to 1 direction, which resaults with a big moshpit in middle

your income points and stays 0

The mod doesnt feel like a real game like the modded map on "eden"

Might want to look into it when you can, durwyn
but the mod is great and I love it, keep up the good work
KillerKitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 01:48 PM   #369
Durwyn

 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 264
Thanks: 47
Thanked 67 Times in 54 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KillerKitten View Post
Mines aren't considered as built, there's no greensquare at the map that indicates a built mine
Yes, send your complain to S2 :P

Quote:
There's a hp bar that follows you
On Lostvalley Yes, even though i don't know why. But if it's present on other maps, tell me which. Unless its every of them. ^^'

Quote:
the bots (on lostvalley) always goes to 1 direction, which resaults with a big moshpit in middle
Randomness can do such a bad work at times. Or maybe there isn't enough of waypoints

Quote:
your income points and stays 0
Well, look at quote 1 ^^


Edit:

Okay i found a little problem during the processus of attributing waypoints. The 4 rogues in the middle were counted as 2 possible waypoints while they shouldn't, since they are too close to the scar. (which is already a waypoint itself)

Here is how it's looking now:


New version can be downloaded right now.

edit 2:

I found the "There's a hp bar that follows you" problem and fixed it. I will test it a moment before uploading.

uploaded version.
__________________
Operating System: Windows 7 x64
Graphic card : Geforce GT 540M
RAM : 8gb
Savage2MapsAI

Last edited by Durwyn; 05-22-2014 at 07:00 PM.
Durwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Durwyn For This Useful Post:
KillerKitten (05-23-2014)
Old 05-23-2014, 09:54 AM   #370
KillerKitten

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 51
Thanks: 32
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Very nice, another thing you might see to try and look at is:

Bots arn't considered as players, if I want to build somewhere I have to send out my JM.

Very good work on the mod, btw

I'll keep on testing on all maps and help you whenever and wherever I can. good luck.
KillerKitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:15 PM.