Go Back   Savage 2: A Tortured Soul Forum > Savage 2 Servers

Notices

Savage 2 Servers Announcements, discussion, and information regarding the Savage 2 servers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2012, 06:28 PM   #11
Inoyoulikeme

 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: In the sky with diamonds...
Posts: 5,549
Thanks: 3
Thanked 77 Times in 55 Posts
Default

Indeed, muting VoIP makes it a lot easier to play, but sometimes it's necessary to hear what the comm is saying, and it's a bitch to try to enable it in-game (you have to wait until all sound files reload).
Inoyoulikeme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 06:33 PM   #12
rancho

 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 61
Thanks: 69
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordmd View Post
Yes. I lag too. If the 14 years old commander with his female sounding voice is whining and some other guys are insulting him using mic because he is a noob then it lags. Maybe too much traffic and the server gets laggier. Then disabling voice on client side won't help.
there are several different people who have recently started to describe in detail their POV on mic, not necessarily when they are in the same game, but its true that our young and 'extremely good' commander has been a major factor in making me get fed up with all the voices i ever hear now
rancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 06:35 PM   #13
rancho

 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 61
Thanks: 69
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inoyoulikeme View Post
Indeed, muting VoIP makes it a lot easier to play, but sometimes it's necessary to hear what the comm is saying, and it's a bitch to try to enable it in-game (you have to wait until all sound files reload).
good point about having to reload the sound files ingame...
if i disable voip using by setting some variable, will i have to restart the client?
rancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 06:43 PM   #14
rancho

 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 61
Thanks: 69
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inoyoulikeme View Post
There are a few options to disable VOIP in the client settings.

Hit ctrl+F8 in-game and type cvarlist voice, this will search for all the settings related to voice.

From there you can change said settings to whatever you want.
found a variable called voice_disabled = false, and i have set it to true, will see how it goes ingame, and what happens if i enable it while playing
rancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 07:05 PM   #15
rancho

 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 61
Thanks: 69
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Default

voice was disabled like a charm
i didnt even see the speaker's name on the left side, and there was no decrease in volume which happens when you just mute someone.
awesome
rancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 09:09 PM   #16
Inoyoulikeme

 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: In the sky with diamonds...
Posts: 5,549
Thanks: 3
Thanked 77 Times in 55 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rancho View Post
good point about having to reload the sound files ingame...
if i disable voip using by setting some variable, will i have to restart the client?
Yeah, if you turn on in-game VoIP after it's been disabled all the sound samples need to reload, and it sometimes crashes as well.
Inoyoulikeme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:48 PM.