Go Back   Savage 2: A Tortured Soul Forum > Savage 2 Modding

Notices

Savage 2 Modding Discussion of all things related to making mods of Savage 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2013, 12:08 PM   #1
PetzI

PetzI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,815
Thanks: 18
Thanked 72 Times in 50 Posts
Default Adding Hellbourne

Hey there, I haven't looked deeply into it, but I've tried adding a hellbourne to the Hellshrine interface and removing the current three. I was sort of able to get it working but, if I recall correctly, the icons and abilities were all messed up. I'm not sure about the soul cost, though. Also, re-scaling the HS messed with the spawned unit's scale as well, which is really hugged up.

This is for my Fantasy mod; I'm trying to get the Ares to work as a hellbourne (I was it to cost souls, basically). Has anyone done this before in some unreleased mod? By the way, I wouldn't mind an alternative method to adding it to the Hellshrine.
PetzI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 01:40 PM   #2
Majin`Goku

Majin`Goku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ammo Tent
Posts: 781
Thanks: 82
Thanked 72 Times in 41 Posts
Default

so in shortz u wanna make all hellz away n put arez in instedd of em, rite?
uhm ... did u tried replacin only one of em first ? leik malph -> ares ?

doez it mess up ?

im not sugar bout rescalin tho... only hs or scar alltogetha ?

__________________

Thank you for logging in, Majin`Goku.

YOU WELCOME AHAHA!



RECOMMANDAND DOWNLOOTZ:
Voice Commands Revolution! | Mindwarp-Bug FIX! | LUVLY DUVLY HAPPY MOD | Pidg's Whisper Ignore :o

All versionz. Report bugz pl0x :o

CURRENT ALTZ: MAJINGOKU, KUGODANCER, REIKU7, KNEHTJE, COMMUNTY (REZZED) AND ~ <3 COSM <3 ~ (NO HOMO) outdate but ima lazy 2 add propa namez AHAHAHA... forgivez pl0x :o

Majin`Goku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 02:42 PM   #3
Pidgeoni

Pidgeoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,734
Thanks: 185
Thanked 317 Times in 190 Posts
Default

So, mini shrines spawn mini malphs? Wow :o

I never tried actually doing this, so i can't help right now. I'll try giving it a look though
Pidgeoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:45 PM   #4
Majin`Goku

Majin`Goku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ammo Tent
Posts: 781
Thanks: 82
Thanked 72 Times in 41 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pidgeoni View Post
So, mini shrines spawn mini malphs? Wow :o
tho unwanted hear it wud at leastz make 4 an intestin modification no? XDXDXD
__________________

Thank you for logging in, Majin`Goku.

YOU WELCOME AHAHA!



RECOMMANDAND DOWNLOOTZ:
Voice Commands Revolution! | Mindwarp-Bug FIX! | LUVLY DUVLY HAPPY MOD | Pidg's Whisper Ignore :o

All versionz. Report bugz pl0x :o

CURRENT ALTZ: MAJINGOKU, KUGODANCER, REIKU7, KNEHTJE, COMMUNTY (REZZED) AND ~ <3 COSM <3 ~ (NO HOMO) outdate but ima lazy 2 add propa namez AHAHAHA... forgivez pl0x :o

Majin`Goku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 10:41 PM   #5
Pidgeoni

Pidgeoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,734
Thanks: 185
Thanked 317 Times in 190 Posts
Default

Gave it a try.

Looks like you have to rescale the whole hellshrine prop, and not just the building scale, as my malphas was full sized D:

Was able to spawn as steambuchet with a working soul cost after changing the prerequisites. I just entered hs, unit steambuchet, uicall game_options "sacrifice('steambuchet');" by console, so it should be possible via ui as well.

Soz but i cant really help much more :(

gl!
Pidgeoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 11:23 PM   #6
PetzI

PetzI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,815
Thanks: 18
Thanked 72 Times in 50 Posts
Default

I guess it also has to do with the prop size. I'll have to experiment with both of them.

I haven't actually been looking at this a.t.m., but I'll get back to work on the mod one of the days, so I'll just ask for help whenever I get stuck again. Until then, this will be really useful as a reference. Thanks!
PetzI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 03:33 PM   #7
Majin`Goku

Majin`Goku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ammo Tent
Posts: 781
Thanks: 82
Thanked 72 Times in 41 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pidgeoni View Post
Looks like you have to rescale the whole hellshrine prop, and not just the building scale, as my malphas was full sized D:
ya taht me meant abuv

uhm petzi can u pl0x tell wut u did xactly to produce teh smallish hell unit ?
i mite b interest 2 doez it on purpose :o
(mayb a mini gar will spawn mini savagez? XDXDXD)

thx in advancment
__________________

Thank you for logging in, Majin`Goku.

YOU WELCOME AHAHA!



RECOMMANDAND DOWNLOOTZ:
Voice Commands Revolution! | Mindwarp-Bug FIX! | LUVLY DUVLY HAPPY MOD | Pidg's Whisper Ignore :o

All versionz. Report bugz pl0x :o

CURRENT ALTZ: MAJINGOKU, KUGODANCER, REIKU7, KNEHTJE, COMMUNTY (REZZED) AND ~ <3 COSM <3 ~ (NO HOMO) outdate but ima lazy 2 add propa namez AHAHAHA... forgivez pl0x :o

Majin`Goku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 12:51 PM   #8
PetzI

PetzI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,815
Thanks: 18
Thanked 72 Times in 50 Posts
Default

Okay, so apparently when you scale a building, when the Steambuchet spawns from it, the Steambuchet's scale will be divided by the building's scale. So because the Hellshrine was scaled to 0.8 and the Steambuchet was scaled to 1.4, the scale appeared in the game as 1.75. However, I don't know how it looks to other players, I've only tested it from the point of view of the player using the Steambuchet.

This also worked with the Garrison. It didn't work with a Scout, though, even after setting isHellbourne and isSiege to 1, so apparently it's a Steambuchet thing. I suspect it might work with the Battering Ram, though.

EDIT: New evidence suggests that it doesn't divide the scale, as I previously thought. I tried setting the Steambuchet's scale to 0.84 and the Hellshrine's to 0.6 and it's not giving me a 1.4 scale. Hugging...

Last edited by PetzI; 01-17-2013 at 01:59 PM.
PetzI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 11:25 PM   #9
Majin`Goku

Majin`Goku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ammo Tent
Posts: 781
Thanks: 82
Thanked 72 Times in 41 Posts
Default

k thx 4 info ... huh ...bizarre cudnt reproduce taht bug... mean cud reproduce ONCE... tehn neva again... wtf is taht XD

summin letz me suspect we r yet 2 kno evrythin taht iz responsibul for tis :o
__________________

Thank you for logging in, Majin`Goku.

YOU WELCOME AHAHA!



RECOMMANDAND DOWNLOOTZ:
Voice Commands Revolution! | Mindwarp-Bug FIX! | LUVLY DUVLY HAPPY MOD | Pidg's Whisper Ignore :o

All versionz. Report bugz pl0x :o

CURRENT ALTZ: MAJINGOKU, KUGODANCER, REIKU7, KNEHTJE, COMMUNTY (REZZED) AND ~ <3 COSM <3 ~ (NO HOMO) outdate but ima lazy 2 add propa namez AHAHAHA... forgivez pl0x :o

Majin`Goku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 02:43 PM   #10
PetzI

PetzI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,815
Thanks: 18
Thanked 72 Times in 50 Posts
Default

Okay, so it seems the building scale does not, in fact, affect the player's scale. What is did seem to mess up was the attack offset on the unit's gun, but I finally figured it out. It has to do with the Y axis of the player's camera when sacrificing at the HS.

I'll try to fix that by centering the player's camera with GetPitch and SetClientAngles. Thanks, rohezal!

Also, I got the icon and name to work by hardcoding it in the interface, as I didn't much about XML. Thing is, it used the same variable to display the name and to access other unit's variables. And I wanted to show the name "Ares on Wheels" while using "Steambuchet" to access variables. I suppose I can worry about that when I want to add another Hellbourne, though.
PetzI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:00 PM.