Go Back   Savage 2: A Tortured Soul Forum > Savage 2 Modding > Documentation

Notices

Documentation Post useful tutorials and other informative material.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2008, 08:45 AM   #1
Stanz

 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: England
Posts: 829
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default Unofficial K2 Script Editor

K2 Script editor is an unofficial tool designed to be a friendly ease of use editor to work with map scripts faster and easier without having to load up the K2 engine or Savage 2. Also features popular features such as syntax highlighting and auto completion proposals.

Current Version:
20131228

Screenshots (from version 1.24):


Download: Win32|Win64|Linux_x86|Linux_x64

Obviously I am not responsible for the program losing data or kicking your dog etc so might be wise to keep a backup of any map files. If there are any problems let me know so I can fix them.

Last edited by Stanz; 12-30-2013 at 06:30 AM.
Stanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 12:44 PM   #2
PoisoN

PoisoN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanz View Post
Little program I put together the last couple of days. Aim is to create a quicker access to the scripting part of maps without having to load the entire editor along with some extra features for ease of use and such.



It's fully functional, just got a few little tweaks/fixes to do to it and I might release the first version.

Depending on how much use it see's I have some idea's in mind for auto completion, proposals as well as XML support (for both the XML and Script) and some other stuff.
looks very nice even though i probably wont be using i bet its gonna work well for others
__________________


Savage 2 Modding Wiki
http://modding.savage2.s2games.com/index.php

From Connal
Quote:
Still a sneaky bastard! :P
PoisoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 01:06 PM   #3
Donut

Donut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cheeseburger
Posts: 11,017
Thanks: 17
Thanked 124 Times in 97 Posts
Default

... does it work with XP (since your using Vista)....
__________________

Donut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 03:53 PM   #4
Stanz

 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: England
Posts: 829
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Please don't insult me; I am not stupid enough to use Vista willingly, I am running XP. It should work on all versions of windows, including Vista. Though with Vista's reputation I wouldn't take my word for it without it being tested first.
Stanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 04:50 PM   #5
Donut

Donut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cheeseburger
Posts: 11,017
Thanks: 17
Thanked 124 Times in 97 Posts
Default

No offense buddy..
__________________

Donut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 06:39 PM   #6
Stanz

 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: England
Posts: 829
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Well I'm quite happy with releasing it as it is now as the first version but I don't have my FTP atm and I don't really feel like putting it elsewhere, I'll think about doing something with it after I found out what's happening with my web server.
Stanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 09:55 PM   #7
Stanz

 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: England
Posts: 829
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Download: http://www.stanz.org/files/K2SE.zip
(Might take a little bit for your ISP to update the DNS before this link works.)
Stanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 12:46 AM   #8
Flakker

 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Please don't insult me; I am not stupid enough to use Vista willingly
It is interesting to note that you make your own insult in your response; you imply that users of Vista are stupid (and you are not one of them)

Anyways, Vista vs. XP discussions aside, I just tested it fine on Vista x64 and it seems to work well.

As a sidenote, when I play Savage 2 under Vista, I have to answer an administrative prompt because the publisher of the game is unknown (just wanted to make sure that you are aware of that fact and that it makes the game seem less professional than it should be considering the amount of effort and quality you and your team have put into it).

It is certainly a small thing that can be easily ignored but I thought I should mention it ;o)
Flakker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 02:15 AM   #9
Stanz

 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: England
Posts: 829
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

It is interesting to note that you proved my point in your response; you imply that people will think s2games are unprofessional due to Vista's shortcomings. Which is exactly the sort of stupid thing Vista users would claim and probably believe.
Stanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 05:44 AM   #10
Flakker

 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
It is interesting to note that you proved my point in your response; you imply that people will think s2games are unprofessional due to Vista's shortcomings
I am confused. How is it a Vista's shortcoming that a developer did not properly sign his .exe so that the game does not think it some other unwanted file trying to access system resources? Sounds more like the developer overlooked the portion of his user base that would be running Vista...

This does not happen with any other game but with Savage 2.

I am not trying to upset you or give you a hard time, I am honestly trying to simply be informative and improve on the quality of the game through my feedback. I like Savage 2 a lot (I was there at the GDC 2004 when Savage 1 won the award) and simply wish to be helpfull.
Flakker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:21 AM.